top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavey’s World

Q&A w/ Ferdinand Po

NAME/AGE/LOCATION/MEDIUM(S):

Ferdinand Po/29/Edinburgh, Scotland Stand-up comedy, choose-you-own-adventure comic books, illustrated natal charts, digital art (portraits, logos, and album covers) and I guess I design clothing and home goods now? 


SOCIAL MEDIA/WEBSITE:

Patreon.com/extramediumGuillotineprints.site


WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FOUR-LETTER WORD?

 BARK. 


TOP 3 TRACKS RIGHT THIS FUCKIING SECOND. GO!

Oh shit, oh shit. Uhh, 1: Ballcap, Mother Mother 2. Bag of Hammers, Theo and the Get Down Stay Down 3. Kokapelli face tattoo, AJJ. 


DO YOU HAVE A GO-TO JOKE, YOU KNOW, LIKE WHEN YOU’RE IN A DANGEROUS SITUATION TO THROW OFF YOUR OPPONENT?

When people compliment me I like to say “RIGHT? Why don’t more people get that?” It’s not super funny but I guess in-the-can jokes usually aren’t. There is also this joke, which I tell a lot when I’m drunk: How many squatters does it take to change a light bulb? THERE'S ELECTRICITY IN THIS SQUAT?


DO YOU BELIEVE IN HAVING “FAVORITES”? IF SO, WHAT ARE SOME OF YOURS?

Number: 19 Flavor of ice cream: cardamomThing that is kinda like a potato chip but isn’t actually a potato chip: popodomsD&D class: bardLanguage to fall asleep to on a train: Italian Soap smell: almond and cherry Color: olive greenTV show: Patriot Person: There is this 9th grade kid who has a youtube channel that focuses on finding ghosts in missoula. He uses tech from the 90’s as his ghost-detector set. I found about him because he reached out to me because he wanted to help keep missoula safe from nazis. I think he’s probably the best person ever invented. 


WHAT CAN ART DO?

In my experience art can build little rickity bridges between our islands of percieved reality by giving form to truths that plain statements just can’t encompass. It can also do a double backflip, it just doesn’t feel like it. 


WHAT IS THE POINT OF MAKING ART?

Great question. I thinks it’s kind of compulsive for a lot of peope, me included. Maybe the point is endlessly varied and thats why it’s hard to pin down. But then again, maybe the point of art is the friends we made along the way. 


WHAT WILL ALWAYS MAKE YOU BURST OUT LOUD IN LAUGHTER?

Have you seen raccoons do literally anything? They have these little hands, you see. It’s very good. 


WHAT IS AN OBSCURE FACT YOU KNOW?

In 1919, there was a mollasses flood in Boston. 


DOES ORIGINALITY EXIST?

I think so. I remember getting really upset when I was told the old ficiton/storytelling proverb that there are really only 7 stories in the world. I really wanted that to not be true. It is, mostly. The way those stories can be told is limitless and exponetially growing, however. I think that basic idea probably transfers to most mediums. 


DO YOU REMEMBER THE FIRST ALBUM YOU HAD ON VINYL/TAPE/CD/WHATEVER?

Uh yeah, it was a Madonna cassette. I was 9 and I basically held my friend Dani hostage in my room, singing all the lyrics to her expecting her to be like “you are right, THIS IS the pinnacle of music.” 


WHAT IS A SONG YOU KNOW ALL THE LYRICS TO?

Ever Regina Spektor song. 


WHAT IS AN “IDEAL” ART SCENE LOOK LIKE? IS THERE AN IDEAL?

I guess my ideal would be two parts. The incubator and the projector. I think it’s important to be inclusive and also responsive to art, especially if its coming from a voice that isn’t practiced at their medium. I don’t mean unconditionally supportive, but being really invested in each others art and growth in chosen craft is the foundation of my ideal art scene. Thats the incubator. The projector is just having a scene that is connected to other scenes and really sends out it’s best to be seen/experienced. 


WHAT KIND OF OPPORTUNITIES ARE YOU HOPING TO EXPLORE IN THE FUTURE IN TERMS OF ART, LIFE, WHATEVER?

So I’m seeking citizenship in Albania in the fall for me and my son. If that works out, I’ll be financially able to hunker down on my projects and just...produce. I’ve also been thinking pretty intensely about getting a dog. Like one with paws and stuff. 


ARE YOU OPEN TO COLLABORATING? IF SO, WHAT WOULD YOU WANT THAT TO LOOK LIKE?

Yeah. Im actually really into the idea. Previously I’ve been kinda shy about collab and ever since letting my art-gut relax in public I’ve really wanted to do something. I think it would be cool to step outside of my current mediums and do something off the wall for me. Like a radio drama. Or...a mural. 


DO YOU SECRETLY OR NOT-SO-SECRETLY ADMIRE ANYONE?

Oh man. Yeah. I admire a lot of people. Like, it would be silly to start listing because it wouldn’t end. One of my pasttimes is just admiring the shit out of people. 


HOW IS IT POSSIBLE THAT YOU EXIST TODAY? TO WHAT DO YOU ATTRIBUTE YOUR SUCCESS IN MAKING IT THIS FAR?

I think crosswalk signs have had a lot to do with my continued existance. Mad props to you, red hand and white guy. 


ARE YOU LEFT-HANDED OR RIGHT-HANDED, BOTH, OR NEITHER?

Im Left-handed. 


TELL ME A STORY.

Once a boy fell in love with a girl. She was very beautiful and always wore a yellow dress, and a yellow ribbon around her neck. They courted and became married. On their wedding night the boy tried to take the yellow ribbon off of her neck but she stopped him. She said he must never take the ribbon off. He agreed and they enjoyed the rest of their wedding night. But as the years went on, the mystery of what was yellow ribbon ate at the man. He found himself unable to focus on every day tasks. His children brought him no joy. He decided that enough was enough. When the children were grown and at uni, he took his wife aside and he said “listen, I have been with you for 25 years. We have grown old together. I demand to take off your yellow ribbon.” The woman looked upset but nodded her head. “Very well, husband.” She exposed her throat for him to undo the ribbon. The man took hold of one end and with an exhale, pulled. The ribbon dropped to the floor to reveal the terrible truth: The woman had an ICP neck tattoo.” FIN Thank you. 


WHICH CAME FIRST: CUPID OR HIS ARROWS?

In true love, everyone comes at the same time. 


WHAT IS SOMETHING YOU WOULD LIKE TO GET BETTER AT?

Time management, just like regular executive function stuff. 


WHAT ARE YOU BEST AT? WHAT ARE YOU WORST AT? WHAT ARE YOU ABSOLUTELY AVERAGE AT?

I’d be pretty surprised to find I’m the best at anything. I’m pretty jack-of-all-tradsey and I’m happy with that. My best skill is probably humor.  I’m the worst at organization. I am writing this in what can be described as a nest of papers, books, and candy wrappers. I’m the most average at singing, which is cool. 


DO YOU HAVE ANY TIPS FOR RELAXING?

Just don’t think about chainsaws, really. 


IS THERE A SOURCE OF INSPIRATION FOR YOU? MULTIPLE SOURCES?

I’ve got a few muses of sorts. For a lot of my stand-up I’m just finishing arguments I saw on social media, and my Comic, Space Force is really inspired by a lot of 60’s and 70’s cheesy sci-fi. 


WHAT IS SOMETHING YOU BELIEVE EVERYONE SHOULD BE AWARE OF?

Our thought patterns are products of the society we came up in and while that in itself isn’t our fault, it’s our responsibility to deconstruct and analyse those thoughts and compare them to our actual ideals and ethics. 


IS LA CROIX:

A. A GENIE IN A BOTTLE

B. HAIRSPRAY IN A CAN

C. OOH! BUBBLY WATER? HOW FUN!

I will be surprised if anyone does not answer this with ‘all of the above’


ARE YOU WORKING ON ANY PROJECTS CURRENTLY?

SO MANY. But the one I’m most excited about is im designing a tarot deck that depicts the rising working class agitation in america. It’s called the Prole-Tarot. 


DO YOU HAVE ANY COOL PARTY TRICKS?

Yeah I do this thing where I walk to the store and get more beer and everyone seems to like that a lot. 


WHAT IS THE LAST THING YOU LISTENED TO?

A playlist I made for working out. It’s got a lot of Run The Jewels, The addicts, Math the Band and other shit. I wasn’t working out though. 


IF YOU WERE A CHARACTER ON A PLAYING CARD, WHAT WOULD YOUR STATS LOOK LIKE?

Like a magic the gathering card? Or like, a bicycle deck? Either way I’m a one eyed jack. Let me give you my D&D stats”STR: 8 DEX: 9 CON: 9 INT: 11 WIS: 8 CHA: 11

DO YOU REMEMBER YOUR FIRST CELEBRITY CRUSH? 

Jessica Rabbit. Make of that what you will. 


DID/DO YOU PLAY SPORTS?

No competition has always scared the hell out of me. 


WHAT DO YOU THINK OF MEMES?

Memes are cool. 


ARE YOU SWEET, SALTY, SOUR, OR A COMBINATION OF THOSE THINGS?

I’m salty on the outside and sweet on the inside. 


WRITE A HAIKU.

Sunlight against glass

Flesh agaisnt the sheets

Page agaisnt the cheek 


ARE YOU READING ANYTHING? WHAT IS A BOOK YOU HAVE READ MULTIPLE TIMES?

I’m reading Dead Wind Sea, which my partner Josh Wagner wrote. It’s about a man who goes looking for his wife in the land of the dead. I’m also reading an economics book that has yet to be published as I convert it to audio book for the author. It’s not my jam and I hate it. 


DO YOU HAVE OPINIONS ON THE ADVANCEMENT OF TECHNOLOGY?

Time keeps on slippin’ into the future. Everything is on it’s way to be automated so we should stop determining peoples rights to have basic needs on the work they do. 


TELL ME ANYTHING YOU’D LIKE:

I’m gay. 

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page